bpv Huegel has one of the premier competition groups in Austria. With offices in Vienna and Brussels, it is among the largest and best regarded, having been awarded top-tier and Band 1 positions in the major rankings (Chambers & Partners, JUVELegal 500 and GCR) for more than two decades running.

The firm stands for decades of highly specialised expertise in all questions of national, European and international competition law. The firm advises companies on a full spectrum of competition matters:

  • Antitrust and abuse of market dominance proceedings
  • Cartel raids and proceedings
  • Merger control (in particular multi-jurisdictional filings with a focus on CEE)
  • Structuring cross-border transactions
  • Follow-on private damages claims
  • Distribution law
  • Technology transfers
  • R&D co-operations
  • Joint ventures
  • Digital platforms
  • State aid
  • Internal investigations and compliance
  • Providing strategic antitrust counselling of clients in competition matters.

Its presence and expertise extend across Europe. The firm’s Brussels office offers direct access to European institutions. Its affiliation with bpv LEGAL offices in the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, and Romania provides clients with seamless cross-border service in the CEE on competition issues, including multi-jurisdictional merger filings.

bpv Huegel’s roster of well-known and blue-chip clients includes some of the largest companies in Austria and multinationals from around the world.

The large competition team consists of numerous experienced antitrust specialists, each individually recognised by their peers and the major rankings:

  • The competition department is headed by Astrid Ablasser-Neuhuber, who has two decades of expertise in all aspects of competition practice before the Austrian and European competition authorities and in proceedings before the European Courts.
  • Florian Neumayr, a Co-Managing Partner of the firm, heads the antitrust litigation group and specialises on all aspects of Austrian and EU competition law, including cartels, abuse of dominance and merger control.
  • Gerhard Fussenegger is a Co-Managing Partner of the Brussels office, where he offers a direct point of contact to the European institutions on all varieties of antitrust and merger control matters.
  • Christian Schneider, a holder of a venia legendi for constitutional and administrative law and the related fields of European law at the University of Vienna, head of the EU and regulatory group at bpv Huegel, specialises in state aid, regulatory, and general EU law matters, providing for seamless service in matters that overlap with competition issues.
  • In addition to its roster of talented attorneys and associates, the team was strengthened in 2019 by the addition of Counsel Kajetan Rozga, who was trained in the U.S. and represents international clients in various competition matters. Prior to joining bpv Huegel, he spent a decade handling merger and antitrust cases for a US competition authority and a leading international law firm.

Die Wettbewerbs- und Kartellrechtspraxis von bpv Hügel gilt als eine der führenden Adressen in Österreich. Mit Büros in Wien und Brüssel verfügt bpv Hügel über eines der größten und renommiertesten Kartellrechtsteams in Österreich, und wird seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten in den wichtigsten Anwalts-Rankings (Chambers & Partners, JUVELegal 500, GCR) als Top-Tier-, Band 1– bzw „Elite-“ Praxis geführt.

bpv Huegel steht für langjährige und hochspezialisierte Expertise in allen Fragen des nationalen, europäischen und internationalen Kartellrechts. Die Kanzlei berät Unternehmen unter anderem in folgenden Themen:

  • Kartell- und Missbrauchsverfahren
  • Begleitung bei Hausdurchsuchungen
  • Nationaler, EU- und internationaler Fusionskontrolle (insbesondere auch bei sogenannten „multijurisdictional“ Anmeldungen in mehreren Ländern mit Schwerpunkt im CEE)
  • Strukturierung von grenzüberschreitenden Transaktionen
  • Joint Ventures
  • Digitalen Plattformen
  • Vertriebsrecht
  • Technologietransfer
  • F&E-Kooperationen
  • Privaten Schadenersatzansprüche
  • Staatlichen Beihilfen
  • Compliance und internal Investigations
  • Strategischen Beratung in Wettbewerbssachen (strategic antitrust councelling).

Die Präsenz und Kompetenz des Kartellrechtsteams erstreckt sich über ganz Europa. Neben Wien eröffnet das Brüsseler Büro der Kanzlei direkten Zugang zu den europäischen Institutionen. Die Zugehörigkeit zu den bpv LEGAL-Büros in der Tschechischen Republik, der Slowakei, Ungarn und Rumänien bietet unseren Mandanten einen nahtlosen grenzüberschreitenden Service in CEE in allen Wettbewerbsfragen, einschließlich der Durchführung von Fusionskontrollanmeldungen oder Kronzeugenanträgen in mehreren Jurisdiktionen.

Zu den Mandanten von bpv Hügel zählen namhafte (häufig auch sog Blue-Chip) Klienten, darunter einige der größten Unternehmen Österreichs sowie multinationale Unternehmen aus der ganzen Welt.

Das Team von bpv Huegel verfügt über zahlreiche etablierte Anwälte, die von Fachkollegen anerkannt und in den wichtigsten Rankings auch jeweils einzeln an führender Position gereiht sind:

  • Astrid Ablasser-Neuhuber leitet die Kartellrechtspraxis von bpv Hügel und verfügt über zwei Jahrzehnte Erfahrung in allen Aspekten des Wettbewerbsrechts. Sie vertritt Mandanten in Verfahren vor den österreichischen und europäischen Wettbewerbsbehörden und Gerichten.
  • Florian Neumayr, Co-Manager der Kanzlei, leitet die Gruppe für Kartellrechtsdurchsetzung und ist auf alle Aspekte des österreichischen und europäischen Kartellrechts (Kartelle, Marktbeherrschung und Fusionskontrolle) spezialisiert.
  • Gerhard Fussenegger, ist Co-Managing Partner des Brüsseler Büros, das neben der Rechtsberatung zu Österreich insbesondere auch einen direkten Zugang zu den europäischen Institutionen in allen Fragen des Kartellrechts und der Fusionskontrolle ermöglicht.
  • Christian Schneider ist Inhaber einer venia legendi für Verfassungs- und Verwaltungsrecht und die damit verbundenen Fachgebiete des Europarechts an der Universität Wien. Er leitet die Praxisgruppe EU und Regulierungsrecht bei bpv Hügel und ist spezialisiert auf Fragen des staatlichen Beihilfen-und Regulierungs- sowie auf allgemeines EU-Recht und damit in Bereichen etabliert, die sich mit verschiedenen Aspekten des Wettbewerbsrechts überschneiden.
  • Neben Rechtsanwälten und Associates wird das Team seit 2019 auch durch den in den USA ausgebildeten Anwalt Kajetan Rozga verstärkt, der internationale Mandanten vertritt. Vor seinem Wechsel zu bpv Hügel war Kajetan Rozga jahrelang in Fusions- und Kartellrechtssachen sowohl bei US-Wettbewerbsbehörden als auch international führenden Kanzleien tätig.