vCard Download

Partner, Head of IP/IT/Data Protection
Office Vienna
sonja.duerager@bpv-huegel.com

Sonja Dürager specialises in advising on intellectual property law (especially copyright and trademark law), IT law, data protection law and media law. Her main focus is the contractual drafting of IT projects and those related to intellectual property law, the enforcement of intellectual property rights before courts, the support of data protection implementation measures and the development of compliance organisations, as well as representation before the data protection authority.

Mandates
Sonja Dürager represents clients from all industries and sectors, but with a focus on technology, and in particular companies developing software and providing IT and Internet services and new technologies, as well as media and media service providers.

Selected mandates include

  • Consulting for classic and agile software development projects
  • Support and advice to software manufacturers in the marketing and sale of software products, in particular the drafting of license agreements and license models, as well as advice on tools for license monitoring
  • Advice on the implementation of platforms and portals of numerous service providers on the Internet, and drafting the necessary contracts
  • Advice and representation before the data protection authority in complaint proceedings
  • Advice on the implementation of DSGVO compliance, in particular support with documentation and advice on specific processing activities including technical and organisational measures
  • Support of international clients in the implementation of DSGVO compliance in group structures, in particular with regard to non-EU/EEA states.

Memberships

  • Vienna Bar Association
  • International Literary and Artistic Association (ALAI)
  • Scientific Interest Group for Information Law IT-LAW.AT
  • Austrian Association for Intellectual Property and Copyright Law
  • International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI)
  • International Technology Law Association
  • Association littéraire et artistique internationale (ALAI)

Teaching activities and lectures
Sonja Dürager is a lecturer at the Leipzig School of Media, lecturer in the university course Media Law and Information Law (University of Vienna), and speaker at conferences and at various seminar providers.

Education and professional background
Sonja Dürager received her doctorate from the Paris-Lodron-University Salzburg (Dr.iur.) in 2004 and also holds an LL.M. for Legal Information and Information Law (IT-Law) from the University of Vienna. After four years with a Salzburg law firm and more than two years of court experience, she joined bpv Huegel in 2004, has been an attorney since 2007, an associate partner since 2011 and a partner since 2014.

Languages
German, English

Publications
Sonja Dürager is author of several books and articles:

2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2005

vCard Download

Partner, Head of IP/IT/Data Protection
Büro Wien
sonja.duerager@bpv-huegel.com

Sonja Dürager ist spezialisiert auf die Beratung zu Immaterialgüterrecht (speziell Urheberrecht und Markenrecht), IT-Recht, Datenschutzrecht und Medienrecht. Ihr Schwerpunkt ist die vertragliche Gestaltung von IT-Projekten und solchen mit Bezug zu Immaterialgüterrecht, außerdem die Durchsetzung von Rechten des geistigen Eigentums vor Gerichten, die Begleitung von datenschutzrechtlichen Umsetzungsmaßnahmen und Entwicklung von Compliance Organisationen, sowie die Vertretung vor der Datenschutzbehörde.

Beratungsmandate
Sonja Dürager vertritt Mandaten aller Branchen und Sektoren, jedoch mit Schwerpunkt im Technologiebereich, und speziell Unternehmen in der Entwicklung von Software und Erbringung von IT- und Internet-Dienstleistungen sowie neuen Technologien; ferner im Bereich der Medien und Mediendiensteanbieter.

Ausgewählte Mandate umfassen:

  • Beratung bei klassischen und agilen Softwareentwicklungsprojekten;
  • Unterstützung und Beratung von Softwareherstellern bei der Vermarktung und dem Vertrieb der Softwareprodukte, insbesondere Erstellung der Lizenzverträge und Lizenzmodelle sowie Beratung bei Tools für die Lizenzüberwachung;
    Beratung bei der Implementierung von Plattformen und Portalen zahlreicher Diensteanbieter im Internet, und Erstellung der notwendigen Verträge;
    Beratung und Vertretung vor der Datenschutzbehörde in Beschwerdeverfahren;
  • Beratung bei der Umsetzung der DSGVO-Compliance, insbesondere Unterstützung bei der Dokumentation und Beratung bei konkreten Verarbeitungstätigkeiten samt den technischen und organisatorischen Maßnahmen;
  • Unterstützung von internationalen Mandanten bei der Umsetzung von DSGVO-Compliance in Konzernstrukturen, insbesondere mit Bezug zu nicht EU/EWR-Staaten.

Mitgliedschaften

  • Rechtsanwaltskammer Wien
  • International Literary and Artistic Association (ALAI)
  • Wissenschaftliche Interessensgemeinschaft für Informationsrecht IT-LAW.AT
  • Österreichische Vereinigung für gewerblichen Rechtsschutz und Urheberrecht
  • International Association for the Protection of Intellectual Property (AIPPI)
  • International Technology Law Association
  • Association littéraire et artistique internationale (ALAI)

Lehrtätigkeit und Vorträge
Sonja Dürager ist Lektorin an der Leipzig School of Media, Lektorin im Universitätslehrgang Medienrecht und Informationsrecht (Universität Wien), und Referentin auf Tagungen sowie bei diversen Seminaranbietern.

Ausbildung und beruflicher Werdegang
2004 promovierte Sonja Dürager an der Paris-Lodron-Universität Salzburg (Dr.iur.) und sie verfügt außerdem über einen LL.M. für Rechtsinformation und Informationsrecht (IT-Law) der Universität Wien. Nach vier Jahren Tätigkeit in einer Salzburger Anwaltskanzlei und über zwei Jahren Gerichtserfahrung ist sie seit 2004 bei bpv Hügel, seit 2007 Rechtsanwalt, seit 2011 Assoziierter Partner und seit 2014 Partner.

Sprachen
Deutsch, Englisch

Publikationen
Sonja Dürager ist Autorin mehrerer Bücher und Artikel:

 

2019
2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2005